Linklaters promotes eight in London in largest promotions round since 2008


Linklaters has promoted 26 lawyers to partner in its largest promotions round since 2008.

The promotions, which take effect from 1 May, include eight partners in the firm’s London headquarters.

The firm has also targeted its continental Europe offices, making up 11 new partners across its Frankfurt, Amsterdam, Lisbon, Luxembourg, Paris, Munich and Warsaw offices.

As well as Europe, the firm promoted two to partner in Singapore, two to partner in Hong Kong, and one each in New York and Abu Dhabi.

The firm has failed to meet its target of ensuring at least 30% of new partner appointments annually are women, which was introduced in 2014. The firm promoted five women this year – 19% of the total.

Last year the firm promoted five women, making up 21% of the total cohort.

It is the firm’s largest promotions round since 2008, when it promoted 28 to partner. Linklaters made up 23 lawyers to partner in 2015 and 24 last year.

The firm’s corporate division and its finance and projects division each received 46% of the new partners, while dispute resolution had its ranks boosted by two partners – 8% of the total round.

Linklaters senior partner, Charlie Jacobs, said: “The exceptional quality of today’s newly elected partners reflects our commitment to attracting, retaining and promoting the most talented lawyers in jurisdictions and practices around the world.

“We are disappointed that we have failed to reach our target for female partners in this year’s election. We remain absolutely committed to this important goal and acknowledge that despite firmwide progress on diversity, we must and will strive to do better.”

Earlier this week, Legal Week revealed that Linklaters had brought forward its annual partner election process, so that new partners will be able to attend its partner conference for the first time.

New partner promotions in full

Fionnghuala Griggs – corporate
Ian Callaghan – banking
Ilia Ditiatev – projects
James Morgan – tax
Kanyaka Ramamurthi – corporate
Mavnick Nerwal – tax
Reza Taylor – capital markets
Yohan Liyanage – TMT IP

Alexander Harmse – capital markets

Jean-Charles Jais – dispute resolution
Laurent Victor-Michel – corporate
Pierre Thomet – corporate

Andreas Dehio – financial regulation
Burkhard Rinne – capital markets
Christian Schmitt – dispute resolution

Dirk Horcher – corporate

Janusz Dzianachowski – real estate

Melinda Perera – banking

Rui Camacho Palma – tax

Abu Dhabi
Andrew Jennens – banking

Hong Kong
Iris Leung – capital markets
Sumit Indwar – financial regulation

Laure de Panafieu – employment and incentives
Parthiv Rishi – corporate

John Xu – corporate

New York
Robert Trust – banking